HIGHLIGHTS: UP TO US 2015 – 2016

Congratulations to all the teams who participated in the 2016 Up to Us competition!

Learn more about the student campaigns here. To get involved in this years competition, please apply here

In the fourth year of the Up to Us competition, over 50 student teams at colleges and universities across 28 states worked to raise awareness of the nation’s long-term fiscal and economic challenges. The team from the College of William & Mary won first prize and received recognition from President Clinton, Peterson Foundation President and CEO Michael Peterson, and Net Impact CEO Liz Maw.

This year, participating teams engaged more than 30,000 of their fellow students through in-person outreach, events, and activities on campus. They partnered with more than 330 campus groups to support their campaigns and visited 210 classrooms to speak with fellow students about the national debt. The teams gathered nearly 16,000 signatures to a pledge affirming that the millennial generation has an important role to play in securing a strong fiscal future for the country, with more than 20 teams meeting directly with congressional representatives or members of their staff to deliver their messages.

The teams that participated in the 2016 Up to Us competition were:

Arizona State University Babson College
Bard College Bentley University
Berea College Boise State University
Brigham Young University–Idaho California State University, Long Beach
Christian Brothers University Claremont Graduate University
Clark Atlanta University College of William & Mary
Columbus State University Cornell University
De Anza College Duquesne University
Emory University Emporia State University
Farmingdale State College Gardner-Webb University
Indiana University Bloomington Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis
Jackson State University Jefferson Community and Technical College
Kings College McLennan Community College
Miami Dade College Morehouse College
New York University North Carolina A&T University
North Carolina Central University Ohio Northern University
Ohio State University Oklahoma State University
Pennsylvania State University–University Park San Francisco State University
Southeastern Louisiana University Stockton University
Tusculum College University of Minnesota Twin Cities
University of Arkansas–Fort Smith University of California–Los Angeles
University of Central Florida University of Illinois at Chicago
University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign University of Miami
University of Michigan University of New Mexico
University of North Carolina at Greensboro University of San Diego
Wartburg College West Virginia Wesleyan College
Westminster College

Click here to read the many media stories about this year’s competition.